The goddess of Wisdom

Athena pours wine for Heracles
Athena (Divine Mind) pours wine for Heracles (Glory of the light that shines forth).

Through the ages Sophia has been referred to as many different names. The Greeks called her Athena, which Plato in his book Cratylus, translated to mean "Divine Mind". During the hellenistic period Sophia wasn't specifically deified, but Athena (divine mind) was.

Sophia (wisdom) was for hellenistic philosophers was a skill, hence why they called themselves philo-sophers (lovers of wisdom). Philo, which is the act of loving something, can be essentially be represented by the god Eros (love).

Plato in his book Phaedrus, distinguishes two forms of Eros. True Eros is the desire of the higher soul to be united with the World soul. When the soul becomes embodied in Matter and experiences the bewilderment of Time, True Eros or the desire for Sophia is replaced by False Eros.

Eros, being the personification of love, shoots arrows as one shoots their will towards what they want to attract. Apuleius, the 2nd AD poet, writes of a similar union between Eros (love) and Psyche (breath, soul), in his book Metamorphoses.

For the Gnostics, Sophia is the reason for the fall into materiality and the means of redemption from materiality. They viewed the material world as evil and gnosis (knowledge) was the key to being redeemed.

Sophia's ancient name revealed

S + O + Ph + I + A
200 + 70 + 100 + 10 + 1
(2 + 0 + 0) + (7 + 0) + (1 + 0 + 0) + (1 + 0) + 1
(2 + 7 + 1) + 1 + 1
1 + 1 + 1 = 3

When we do gematria of Sophia's ancient name, we can extract significant numerological knowledge. Her name can be reduced to 3.

There are 3 aspects of the psyche (breath, soul), according to Plato. Those three parts are the logos, the spirit, and the appetite. The Holy Trinity of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, each being part of God.

The first Monad (1) gives us the letters Soph, if we flip this word around we get Phos, which in Greek translates to "light". The light is composed of seven archons, two polarities, within one being, from a Gnostic perspective. We can think of these principles as animating Adam Kadmon. Adam is the embodiement of the Kosmos.

The second Monad (1) is embodied by the singular letter of I, the Greek Iota. Iota is the female aspect of Sophia, being number 10 (evenness), yet it partakes in oneness when reduced back to the One. The proto-canaanite glyph that represented this creative aspect was a hand. The hand that writes into existence, the mother. Christian philosophy represents this as the Son, within the Holy Trinity.

The third Monad (1) is embodied by the singular letter A, the Greek Alpha. Alpha is what we would call the soul or breath of life. In Christian philosophy this would be the Holy Spirit, within the Holy Trinity.